EQ & Limiters - DJ Gear & Headphones - Tinnitus

I have been producing music at hobby level for some years and I’m interested in sound/acoustics, trying hard to find gear that translate well what the original track was supposed to sound like. And also I have had some bad experiences with listening to sub bass, sine wave, that is hard to hear well still damaging your hearing if turned up, without pain. Suddenly just some faint nausea. Now ears ringing all day, for life.

For me it’s stunning that there is a lack of EQ(phones) and limiters in DJ gear. I know that pro venues have installed PA limiters so the DJ don’t have to bother about blowing up the speakers. But the DJ can blow up his own hearing, over time. I visit Oratory’s Headphone page frequently and have not to this date found any headphones that is overall good out of the box and healthy for your ears; crazy translation, lack of bass, excessive bass, muddy mids, harsh mids, stupid treble peaks and so on, google “mount beyer” for instance. There may be some descent models that aren’t killing your ears, let me know if there’s a good trade off one for DJ:ing. And by the way I use mostly DT990 Pro 250 Ohm with quite heavy EQ when producing. But I won’t use them with DJ gear(or any gear) without EQ.

There should be some internal EQ for the phones output in DJ gear, better a simple 3 band EQ than nothing, and preferably a peak limiter. All mobile phones have EQ, I guess, and I believe there’s now regulation for consumer products and volume level, in EU. And DJ gear for practising at home with your expensive speakers should have at least a software master output limiter. Now as a welcome update in Denon Prime OS there’s adjustable EQ range for the FX, try set it to about 136Hz avoiding the stacking of the sub frequencies in the kick and bass when experimenting with different FX.