Why I will not buy a Prime 4 after testing

Hi guys, Just got back from a two hour test on the denon dj prime 4. What a amazing machine, also what you get for your money. Wow! I work as a allround dj and play songs from all genre’s and mix or mash them up the whole night. I do this really fast, switching tracks around a minute. For me the reason to use sync so I can focus on cool transitions instead of bpm matching. Now here is the problem. When a track is playing on the prime 4 everytime you load a new track you have to punch the sync button (on the loaded deck) so it’s lit up and activated. On the XDJ-RX2 it does this automaticly. Pioneer has a master clock or tempo. Everything you do will be in sync when quantize is activated. In prime it does not. Not only on loading tracks but also when you play with the loops or hotcue’s on the performing pads. I tried it many times. When a track is playing on deck A and sync is on you must turn sync on the new deck everytime you load a new song. But when you use a stored hotcue or loop, everytime after pressing it you must push the sync button again to stay in sync with the masterdeck. Why??? On the XDJ-RX2 I can do whatever I want. If a track is playing on deck A I load a new track on deck B and it will sync. Because sync was already on and stays on. Even if deck A is playing and I will start the new track on deck B with a stored loop or hotcue; nomatter what I do or if I miss my beat it will jump to the grid of the mastertempo (deck A) because sync is on and everyting is quantized. So; Denon DJ Crew or forum: How can we fix this? How can we have a mastertempo or clock? So everything we do and stays in sync when enabled? Thank you…

6 Likes

Thank heaven for the prime 4 NOT making every track played over a whole set the same bpm as the first track - I’ve heard those sort of sets at amateur nights, with some songs getting automatically sped up or slowed down beyond belief and beyond tolerance, my tolerance at least.