Special character issue with sync manager

Hi, I’m a newbie to engine dj eco system. I’ve switched from 10+ years of Traktor to Denon DJ. Iv’e got some issue with the engine prime desktop software. Importing tracks inside the software is ok, but when I transfer them with the sync manager to USB stick or in the Prime 4+ internal drive, some tracks become red and cannot be used. After some readings and some trials I’ve found that in my case the issue :

• is related to special characters such as é, è, ç in title, artist or genre names (I’m French). Changing those characters solves the issue, but it is not a solution for me to change all the characters of all my database.
  • is not related to the characters used in the file name, even if they are special.

I’m quite surprised that the sync manager is not able to handle special characters in ID3 tags. It’s such a basic fonctionnality. I’ve found threads on that topic but with old versions (such as 1.6.x), but not with recent versions. Is this a new bug for 3.3.0 ? or is this “normal” :frowning:

I’m on a M1 mac with Sonoma 14.2.1 with engine 3.3.0 / Prime 4+ 3.3.0 (exFAT SSD) / Sandisk USB stick (FAT32)

Hey @Barbataz

Welcome! This is unfortunately a currently known issue. There’s no real progress on fixing it from what I’ve seen but would be great to get this one fixed. Beyoncé tracks never show up (along with many other characters) when packing to drive via the sync manager.

Drag and drop the file over to the stick is a workaround but ideally the issue needs fixing.

Here another references:

Thanks @MrWilks for your quick answer ! It’s really annoying then. I’m surprised that with such a fast pace evolving software this kind of basic requirement isn’t fulfilled. It’s very disappointing.

If transferring files directly into the usb stick works, it means that the issue is « just » the sync manager. I suppose that streaming tracks with special characters works also ?

Please Denon team, we need a fix for that !