SC5000 Play/Cue button replacement

Hey all,

Has anyone else gone through the process of replacing the Play/Cue buttons on the SC5000? Some people have asked for where to find the parts (you can get them from Denon or here Button, Cue/Play / Pause - Denon DJ - PT07106315 (instrumentalparts.com) ) although both are currently out of stock. Does anybody have general steps of pictures of the process that’s involved with disassembling the SC5000s? Denon’s only provides service manuals to service centers (which is BS), so I am looking for any insight as to how much work it is to replace these. I’m an electrical engineer and have repaired many devices so not worried about jumping in, but wanted to see what others have ran into.

Thanks!

Ya this is one (more) thing which is a con for Denon. Even for the latest Pio gear you will finde the service manual somewhere. No luck for DenonDJ so far, but I admit a DJ repairing his own equipment is rather a corner case :wink:

So without a service manual, it comes down to the usualy stuff:

• Identifiy the screws to remove and remove them
  • Carefully open the case, making sure not to break any FFC cables/connections
  • Separate assys as needed, repeat steps to dig further until you finished to the top / switch / mechanical layer :slight_smile:
  • Sort all material removed with notes / photos for re-assembly

Hi, did you replace your buttons. How difficult was it and do have any valuable insights, tips or even pictures of the process? Thanks!

Hey @domdj,

I haven’t tried to replace the buttons yet as I can’t get the replacement parts, they are out of stock at the site linked above who gets them directly from Denon. I also called Denon around when the posted this and they said they don’t have any either.

If you know somewhere I can get these, then I’ll give it a shot and document the process.