White smoke after surge in electrical voltage

Hi!

After a power supply shock (300v) , some music equiments burnt and the sound stopped; and in my denon primer 2 white smoke began to come out (with some burning smell), so I disconnected the equipment innmediatly.

To surprise, after that everything seems to be working, which I can’t explain.

Does the denon prime 2 has any protection system against these voltage spikes, which caused the white smoke?

I can’t believe it’s still working after throwing out smoke and burning smell

First, I am curious what causes that power surge. If that is normal in your region, I would be pretty concerned about my expensive DJ gear. Some kind of power buffering or surge arrester device could be of help for the future, though I am not an expert there.

The Prime devices (not the Mixstream and Lives, though) have an integrated power buffering system, too. It could be possible that it was ‘only’ the capacitor bank which got partially damaged but saved the rest of the unit, causing the white smoke you observed. What you may try out: Unplug all media devices, boot the device, keep it on for a short moment and then pull the plug. If it switches off instantly rather than doing the normal safety shutdown, then me might have the solution of what exactly went bust.

2 Likes

Hello! It is not common for it to happen, but in this case the electricity at the party was provided by an electric current generator that ran on fuel (it was on a remote property and there was no other way to have electricity). These generators can have these problems, although they shouldn’t. there was a 300v voltage spike. Two of the sound engineer’s processors were also burned. As you well decide for future events with this type of current, I am going to take a UPS or a voltage stabilizer.