Turn Off FX when loading new track

Hi Folks,

Newbie here - I’ve picked up a Denon Prime 2 and giving it a try after nothing but hassle with another well known brand…:roll_eyes:

First impressions are great! It’s a really fantastic piece of kit. :grin:

Sorry if this has been covered already but I did search on here for a while with no luck.

I use Echo a fair bit as an echo out. I’m finding I keep leaving the FX on by accident and when loading a new track it stays on. Then I only notice when mixing in the new song, which sounds awful. It’s infuriating!

Is there a way / setting to turn OFF the FX section when you load a new track? I tried ticking ‘reset fx when loading new track’ but that doesn’t actually switch it off.

Secondly I’m finding the gains are all over the place - even when matching tracks up with the VU meters, songs are still playing out at different volumes. Am I missing something here?

Cheers Ben

1 Like

Can’t help on the levels part as I’ve found it to be pretty consistent on mine.

I’ve been DJing nearly 24yrs and still do that effects mistake loads, it’s the joys of ‘post fader’ FX. I sort of agree with the suggestion you make and it would be handy to have it as an option.

Im guessing if you have come from software you’re used to hearing it in the headphones as it’s done before it reaches the device.

Yeah - I guess it’s just a force of habit / me becoming lazy. I’ve been using a variety of standalone and software stuff for 15 years now. I’m sure I’ll get used to it, but if it wasn’t too much trouble, having the option to switch the fx off with each fresh track load would be great.

The gains is just another thing to get used to. I don’t think it’s wrong, it’s just different. I’m finding there’s definitely a big difference in volumes between tracks and genres compared to rekordbox analysed files. It’s ok it’s just remembering to take a bit more notice of your levels. Again, me becoming lazy I’m sure.

1 Like