Sync Lead button on waveform, why?

Hi everybody, I’m new to Engine DJ and Numark Mixstream Pro, while mixing I noticed that sometimes a “LEAD SYNC” button appears on both waveforms (see attachment) and I still don’t know how to remove them. Do you have any info about this? Thanks!

Hi, you’ll find that in the settings to disable it.

ive posted a link below for where to find all the manuals.

2 Likes

That icon also appears when one of the tracks has dynamic grid, i.e. the BPM is not constant throughout the track and you have used anchors to set the grid shift points.

Or you have activated the display of those buttons for all tracks (as @STU-C rightly wrote in the previous post).

3 Likes

oh thank you! This explains why it appears with certain songs (I have some vinyl ripped tracks, with inaccurate tempo). I don’t find the option mentioned in the first reply, though, I’ll try again!

1 Like

The SYNC button always appears with dynamic grid tracks, you cannot turn it off. Instead you can make it disappear for normal fixed grid tracks, using the setting in the appropriate menu.

2 Likes

My advice for any vinyl rips is to look at replacing them with digital versions, you can pick most tracks up for 79p on itunes, or often on full compilations (with full length DJ friendly versions) for around £5/£6… makes them far easier to work with than anything recorded from a record.

Using a digital version doesn’t necessarily mean you’ll end up with straight beat grids though, if that’s the goal. If the variation is in the original track, there it will stay.

Yeah sorry i should have pre-faced that with ‘house music’, most of those tracks in the screenshot are 90s/00s dance tracks so a digital version should be perfectly quantized, i know for a fact Pasilda definitely is.

1 Like