Pre-Rendered Stems

Okay so hear me out… Fist off I have zero experience in coding or making any type of software so this might just be a fever dream reeee but I do have some understanding of computers enough that maybe I found a way around the hardware limitations of standalone units when it comes to using stem functions.

I was poking around at how the engine lighting setup works, basically using sound switch to pre-fabricate lighting shows on the pc then save the lighting metadata to the individual music files. I noticed how the data saves into a sort of sub folder for the music file.

The lighting thing is important cause I think Engine OS is already doing with lighting what I think they could do with stems. I was using record box on a friends computer just a few days ago just on my pc and trying out how the stems, and immediately I wondered what if you could just use the PC software version to sort of “Render out” an algorithm based STEM and save the layers onto the USB like you would a soundscape light show.

Essentially drop a track into Engine OS, analyze blah blah, but add a feature where the computer could render out maybe a vocal and instrumental STEM version of the track too. you would sacrifice storage space (As you would most likely triple that files size now), but thankfully the beautiful people at Denon have blessed us with so many storage options, especially that sexy SSD slot this idea would take advantage of.

The separate layers of the track could all be saved in the same sub file, when loading the track in you could maybe have 2 options, Original or “Layered” ← this would be your pre rendered STEM. Tap your option and load as usual.