Pre-computed stems

I’m sure I’m not the first person to ask for stems and I’m aware that the hardware probably isn’t powerful enough to create stems in standalone mode but I don’t see any reason why stems can’t be made in the windows/mac software and then linked to the EQ knobs like VDJ and DJay does.

6 Likes

Are you a software engineer with expertise in coding of DJ software? Do you have knowledge and experience in the development of DJ hardware?

If the answer to the above is no, I dont really see how you can say ‘I don’t see any reason why’ without that knowledge and experience.

If you want stems, buy a powerful laptop and connect it to a controller that supports software with stems included.

1 Like

I am a software engineer so I’m confident it can be done by processing the original audio, splitting it into stems, then linking them together in the engine DJ database. I believe the Engine DJ dev team could program such a feature considering the amazing work they’ve done so far. I’m just making a feature request so that the product team is tracking public interests.

9 Likes

I’ve never used DJay, but VDJ’s fake stems thing instead of tone knobs almost makes me forgive the fact latest versions of VDJ don’t sound as good as the old versions. I was shocked how well it works.

2 Likes

It seems inappropriate to argue about credentials in a feature request forum, but I don’t have “an expertise” in DJ software. I’ve worked with audio software and I’m familiar with how the “stems” are made, but that hardly matters unless your argument is that Engine shouldn’t have a stems feature and this is your way of trying to invalidate my request.

You don’t need experience in something to know what would and wouldn’t be possible. Especially when other software literally already works this way.

8 Likes

But this is exactly the point, we on the outside cant say either way what they can and cant achieve, we dont have the knowledge to make such statements.