Meta-Request: Minimise Time Spent In Front of Laptop

Hey - realise this isn’t in-line with the standard template but hope it’s interesting/useful for people. I’m also fairly new so don’t know if this has been covered in the past - couldn’t find anything in search. Please delete or move as appropriate!

My day job is a Product Manager and we’re always looking for the “why”: what’s the root user need that’s driving a request? One need that I see quite regularly in this forum is a desire to spend less time in front of the laptop - I know that was one of the key reasons I went with an all-in-one, and especially Engine. In a thread the other day @STU-C said “I hate prep work on music, I see it as wasted time I could be DJing”. I think that resonates with a lot of people!

Don’t get me wrong - I can see that the desktop software will always be needed and have a place in workflows. But a holistic approach which asks “how can we help people spend more time in front of the controller?” will be much more likely to actually address that need fully, rather than delivering individual features which might scratch an itch but not address the root cause.

As an illustration, I looked at the open requests sorted by vote and picked out the first few I found that speak to this same desire to avoid the laptop:

Song TAGs editing directly by console - Engine DJ (OS)

Rating a Track On-The-Fly - Engine DJ (OS)

Name Hotcues and Loops directy from the players

Generate Playlist from Prepare Screen

Create a KILLLER library by Implementing “My Tag” feature of Rekordbox. Tagging as we mix

I didn’t spend time scrolling through multiple screens; this is just from the first page or so. Across those five requests there have been 496 votes cast. Even with likely duplication of votes, that’s massive, and speaks to a big unfulfilled desire from the userbase. If prioritisation could take themes into account, development would be much more likely to deliver user satisfaction.