Engine DJ Sync Manager Very Slow

Hi I’m new to prime and Engine DJ. I’ve created my playlists in Engine DJ but for some reason when I use Sync Manager to sync my playlists with my HD it takes days to sync 500gb of music to my drive. When I Say days. I started Sync on Thursday its now Saturday and the progress bar is at 50%

I have the latest Pentium i7 processor with 16gb Ram so it’s not a slow laptop and I’m using USB 3

I’m just wondering if this is normal or am I doing something wrong ?

1 Like

That’s not normal. What’s the read and write speed of the destination? Is it connected via USB 2 or 3 cable?

I’m using a 2 TB Seagate HD through USB 3 https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B07DQ91XNK/ref=cm_sw_em_r_mt_dp_J9MG96SFNMKV6C5X5M2N

Its really frustrating the time its taking. What time would you expect 44000 tracks to sync using Sync Manager ?

Same here. The Sync Manager takes waaaaaaayyyyyyy to long. More than 1 hour, sometimes close to two hours! It feels like a poor code writing.

I have a Mac with Big Sur 11.6 and an external Scandisk 512GB USB 3.0 (https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B083ZRDXSQ/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_search_asin_title?ie=UTF8&psc=1).

And now I also got the “Corrupted Database” error so I need to reinstall Prime.

Not a good weekend in my DJ world :unamused:

I will advise getting a SSD. I have 75k tracks and it occupies about 700gb on ssd

Those seagates tend to be slow and they also have a finicky usb socket. I have 4/5 seagates. I only use the for making back ups. It takes a day for me to clone my music ssd to one of them seagates

I’m looking at SSD for the internal drive for the Prime 4 when I get round to it. I just wanted to get my prime up and running. What drive would you recommend if you don’t rate Seagate ?

@DutchOne I feel your pain :pensive:

depends on what size you need…2tb or 4tb?

i have 2 samsung 4tb