Do DN-SC3700's display waveforms in CD mode?

I’m completely new to these players and I can’t find this mentioned anywhere. I got a pair today to replace my CDJ1000MK3’s which don’t have usb functionality, but I was expecting waveforms on both cd and usb, and as of now, only files scanned in Music Manager show the data.

Also, I hooked up a 500GB external HDD with +/-2000 wav files a couple of hours ago, and it still tells me ‘now checking’ when I push the usb button. How long is it supposed to take? Can’t find any info on the max capacity of the drive, and I’m well below 50000 files. I believe I’m doing something wrong. I was planning on using these as stand alone players sharing a HDD.

Music Manager doesn’t read the metadata on my files, only the filename is shown. Do I really have to put it in manually in the software track by track? Everything is there already, it should just read it right? Win10 wont recognize the device either. I know they are old but not that old…

I was and still am looking forward to using these so if someone could shed some light on these issues, I’d be grateful.

Dn-s3700 does not display any waveforms. I think the first was SC3900 to display a preview waveform.

The DN-S3700 was introduced in 2009 so it’s a teenager now.

Music manager was basic and the database it created was not any sort of SQL standard, but it did have a couple of advantages over Engine Prime/Engine OS data, namely the search results appeared instantly (none of this “updating” nonsense of Prime search today) and the database usage made sense, with you just pointing to a new folder of tunes and clicking “add to database” - done.

Waveform wise, the way forward is to rip all your CDs to hard drive files - you’ll be doing it sooner or later anyway, so might as well start now. Lol

But no, if you (really really) need heaps of metadata for the way that you DJ then you’ll need Prime 4, Prime 2, Prime Go, or Prime SC