DJ tricks of the trade

So after one year of being self taught DJ I bought a reduced DJing online course, TBH I’ve learned nothing new of the how to, however I have massively learned and gained knowledge, that is the knowledge of the basic principles and worth every dollar I paid, so that got me thinking, does anyone on this web page do a tricks of the trade? I have searched and there is a few videos, one that is now private and a couple more which are really good, it would be nice if we had a thread where people could upload a video of something they have learned, helping others. Now I say this as a complete novice and someone who is willing to learn. This page has some of the best knowledge in the industry and a community that seems grounded. So is there a need and want?

1 Like

All i can offer you is the things i was told as a wet behind the ears 18yr old back in 1999.

Firstly ill say, dont get bogged down in gear and tech and assuming that having the latest and greatest is going to make you a better DJ, sure the more expensive stuff might have some quality of life features over say a £200 controller, but in reality you can rock a party just as well with either if you have all the other things in place.

My mate worked with a lad who did a bit of house and hip hop mixing and he said to us that its all about the ‘4 to the floor’… That got me straight into beat counting which i then expanded into phrase mixing (32 beat phrases) after meeting another lad who mixed techno and taught me the art of smooth blending by using 32 beat phrases to increase the chances of a smooth mix. Use loops to avoid clashes in melodies etc, or to mix out of a track early if you feel it needs to, but also don’t be scared of letting a 9 minute track breathe, people still enjoy it regardless of what modern short attention span cultures are implying.