Different BPM/TEMPO analysis in serato to standalone controller

hiya all so i recently started practicing to mix just using the standalone controller as ive transferred all my music to a usb drive, but im having bpm issues where same the song has different bpms, for example the song has a bpm of 88 in serato yet 172 when just using the dj controller, which is really annoying as i was hoping to get away from using a laptop or pc being connected, is there a way to correct this or to workaround this?

cheers

Which do you feel is correct?

Also if it’s d&b then you can more or less forget any two systems both identifying the same bpm on the same song, that’s just on of those d&b things

Hi, you need to ensure you’re using the right tempo range when analysing the track, make sure the range is set so it will pick the track up at the right BPM. 88 x 2 = 176 so its not a million miles out.

You may also need to adjust the grid post analysis to lock it in to the beat (depending on the track).

i am using D&b tracks, but the tempos are correct depending on the hardware to software im using, as for example i use the djay app on adnroid, this allows me to view the bpm at 2 digits ie 86 or i can double this to ‘run’ at 172 bpm but the song will play at the same speed as it should, so i want to say the problem is with me and finding the correct settings, as serato doesnt give me anything over 100 bpm, but standalone controller will but if its down to being dnb then im at a lost lol

Have a look at this Serato article for how to prepare for analysis… you can set a BPM range which goes above 180bpm to analyse DnB tracks. The same applies in Engine Desktop/OS.

Preparing and Analyzing Your Files – Serato Support