Could Denon stem separation take place in Engine Software?

Serato has a separate folder or crate for Stems. I’ve just started using it because my laptop is newer and hasn’t had any issue creating stems on the fly. I’m wondering if Denon could implement their stem separation, not on the player side but on a CPU side, where more processor power and (more importantly) time, are both available. So once exported, the players would only have to playback already separated tracks. Players would not separate stems on the fly, only playback what Engine Software analyzed and exported. This model would sit between Serato’s implementation of on-the-fly separation and Native Instruments’ pre-purchse, pre-rendered (and very limited) stem playback-only model.

I have zero background in programming so I’m only guessing Engine Software on a computer could conduct an additional analysis, create a new folder, then export the track, metadata and stem folder (render / pre-calculation…), all in one huge export. I’m guessing this is what the MPCs are currently doing, taking time to render out separate files. For me Denon exports already take a very long time with certain USB drives and yes, you’d probably need an additional 30-50% of space.

I’m happy to let my computer run all weekend (week, month…) churning out stems, then exporting to an even larger hard drive or SD card. I also love my SC5000m and all the enhancements provided over the years but I doubt it has the horsepower to ever perform stem separation on the fly. CPU separation seems like a fix. I’m guessing we’ll hear something from Denon in the coming weeks to offset whatever ruling comes from NZ regarding Serator and Pioneer/AT. (That’s this week, right?)

Just an idea.

1 Like

Have you checked the file size of the Stems file compared to the original track? And what impact it’ll have on your overall library size?

@donny yes this idea has already been put forward by a few people, including me.